Welcome Anonymous! Please Login or Register   
Deadly_Dozen_2_Maps :: View topic - Grenades - Why one less?
 Forum Index  ·  Search  ·  Usergroups  ·  Edit your profile  ·  Members  ·  Login, Check Messages  
 Arcade  ·  Ranks  ·  Staff  ·  Statistics  ·  Board Rules  ·  Forum FAQ  ·  Log in 


Search for at
Deadly_Dozen_2_Maps Advanced Search

 
 Recent Topics   Next 6 >>  
 Forum   Author   Replies   Last Post 
 Castle Itter, the last battle Deadly Dozen 2 Pacific Theater GI_ 1 Tue Sep 19, 2017 3:13 pm
GI_ View latest post
 Glock17-silenced-kuma KumaWar GI_ 0 Tue Sep 05, 2017 6:35 pm
GI_ View latest post
 DD2MAPS RENEWED HQ GI1 4 Mon Sep 04, 2017 6:40 am
Duke0196 View latest post
 Glock17 Kuma KumaWar GI_ 0 Sun Sep 03, 2017 11:18 am
GI_ View latest post
 Kuma Korean Rescue KumaWar GI1 0 Thu Aug 24, 2017 12:29 pm
GI1 View latest post
 Sound file KumaWar GI_ 0 Tue Aug 22, 2017 10:11 am
GI_ View latest post
Grenades - Why one less?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    Deadly_Dozen_2_Maps Forum Index -> Deadly Dozen 2 Pacific Theater
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Duke0196




Joined: Oct 17, 2011
Posts: 762

Reputation: 89.1
thailand.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2015 7:38 am Post subject: No icon Grenades - Why one less? Reply with quote

Just curious and maybe one of you map makers know this one.

Ever notice how the game subtracts one grenade when you pick up a second pile of the same type of grenade?

Arrow   Scenario 1: You are out of grenades and you see two piles of grenades on a box.  Very Happy  You and another teammate each pick a pile and you each have four.  Yet, if either of you pick up both piles you only have seven.  For some reason the game only gives the player three grenades from the second pile.  Confused

And its not like there is a seven grenade limit, I was down to one grenade and picked up a pile and I had a total of four, rather than five, grenades.

Arrow  Scenario 2: You and your teammate come across some Japanese grenades; but you both have full inventories.  You drop your US grenades for your teammate clearing up a slot.  You pick up the enemy grenades and your teammate picks up your dropped grenades; but you both only have seven, rather than eight, grenades. Still better than just four grenades; but my theory of "in-game" penalty for not sharing was blown. Pun intended.  Laughing

 Anyway, its a question I've had all these years and playing DD2 these past few days reminded me of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GI_



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Aug 14, 2011
Posts: 1360
Location: london england
Reputation: 99.1
uk.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2015 8:54 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Grenades - Why one less? Reply with quote

I am wondering if there is an answer in the game engine itself where all the squad weapons etc' are listed. It can be looked into using "C:\Program Files\EditPlus 2\editplus.exe"
In there is where i found the flaregun. Used it but it's of no use really apart from an objective. Works fine, shoots a flare into the sky.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GI_



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Aug 14, 2011
Posts: 1360
Location: london england
Reputation: 99.1
uk.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2015 9:02 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Grenades - Why one less? Reply with quote

Just looked in the exe but can't find anything. The ItemList.txt states at the end of each line for grenades that you should have 4 of each:
12,1,0,Grenades,GameData/ItemIcons/Grenade.tga,4
42,1,1,Type 97 Grenade,GameData/ItemIcons/Type97Grenade.tga,4

Wish i knew what it all means in weapdef.txt, the answer may be there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Visit Evo-Install Today
Duke0196




Joined: Oct 17, 2011
Posts: 762

Reputation: 89.1
thailand.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2015 11:54 am Post subject: No icon Re: Grenades - Why one less? Reply with quote

No worries.  Don't trouble yourself.  I just thought it a bit odd.  Ta for looking though.  Smile

Hidden and Dangerous 2 had a flare gun which was fairly useless once you got over the novelty to use a flare gun.  Sure it did make the night a little brighter like they are supposed to; but I don't think it actually aided the computer AI.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
King-Donut




Joined: Aug 06, 2011
Posts: 279
Location: Minnesota
Reputation: 72.2


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2015 4:09 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Grenades - Why one less? Reply with quote

Dang, Duke, I never noticed that with the grenades.  Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Duke0196




Joined: Oct 17, 2011
Posts: 762

Reputation: 89.1
thailand.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2015 7:37 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Grenades - Why one less? Reply with quote

King-Donut wrote (View Post):
Dang, Duke, I never noticed that with the grenades.  Laughing


Now, that is funny. How long you been playing this game?  Laughing  

I only found out about this by accident since I normally don't use grenades that much.  The guys I prefer for their shooting qualities usually aren't the best grenadiers; but I do use grenades to get collateral damage by bouncing them off walls or baiting the enemy to draw them out.  Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Visit DFG-GAMING.COM Today
GI_



Gender: Gender:Male
Joined: Aug 14, 2011
Posts: 1360
Location: london england
Reputation: 99.1
uk.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2015 11:00 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Grenades - Why one less? Reply with quote

Here is the flaregun/ you can also get it in Downloads/DD2-MAPS Page 7 with instructions on it's uses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Duke0196




Joined: Oct 17, 2011
Posts: 762

Reputation: 89.1
thailand.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2015 11:09 pm Post subject: No icon Re: Grenades - Why one less? Reply with quote

Interesting look and sound effects.

 I noticed you had to equip it each time.  I guess they figured they didn't have to create a reload sequence since they didn't use it in the game.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic  Reply to topic   printer-friendly view Deadly_Dozen_2_Maps Forum Index ->  Deadly Dozen 2 Pacific Theater Time synchronized with your computer time
Page 1 of 1


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Author   Views   Last Post 
No new posts Ashes map in the works 13 King-Donut 5241 Sat Dec 21, 2013 10:34 pm
GI_ View latest post
No new posts Kwai map - Need help 7 Duke0196 4433 Tue Mar 20, 2012 12:07 am
Duke0196 View latest post
No new posts UDH2-1 map is available 5 King-Donut 3351 Sun Feb 12, 2012 1:23 am
Duke0196 View latest post
No new posts Map conversions 7 GI_ 4565 Wed Nov 02, 2011 5:26 pm
roca View latest post
No new posts Working on a new map 3 King-Donut 3262 Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:13 pm
GI_ View latest post
 




Powered By: phpBB © 2001 - 2009 phpBB Group
RD-DoD Theme By: Realm Designz
Copyright © RealmDesignz.com 2007-2009 All Rights Reserved
Forums ©



Spambot Killer | Site Map
[News Feed] [Forums Feed] [Downloads Feed] [Web Links Feed] Powered by HTML Purifier[Validate robots.txt]

PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2006 by Francisco Burzi.
All logos, trademarks and posts in this site are property of their respective owners, all the rest © 2006 by the site owner.
Powered by Nuke Evolution 2.0.7 - Nuke-Evolution Xtreme 2.0 Edition.

[ Page Generation: 0.53 Seconds | Memory Usage: 4.44 MB | DB Queries: 81 ]

Do Not Click